Am i late

SUB – YOU ARE LATE TO OFFICE

The first email I read today on my official Id was that of my Boss’. “The Boss – the supreme authority” but limited to the place where I work.

Hi Ramesh,

The HR dept has been reporting on your late arrival on many days to the office. We expect you to adhere to the office discipline and deliver your duties, failing to which we would not need your service to the company.

And my reply was “YES SIR, I will adhere to the rules of the company”, but I could not assure him till when.

Actually I leave to my office everyday at 8 am with a hope to reach office at the right time and I do reach my office building at the right time. But the paan wallah infront of our office, my best friend, He gives me all the gossips of my office everyday in the morning.

Ah! What a great start to the day.

And sometimes it’s my watch which betrays me. This watch is my favourite watch.It was given by my father to me, very, very long ago.

Many people have stories behind their wrist watches. But I will tell you a story behind one of my school friend’s watch. He used it to save his life.

A teacher of mine was very harsh on students whenever they are not punctual according to her. My friend came late to her class one day and she was as normal as angry. He showed her the time on her watch and said “m’am I’m on time”. The teacher held her watch to his face and screamed “Is this the time to come to the class”. He looked at her watch and he set his time accordingly. He was let to attend the class with her eyes turning red on him.

He was the hero of that day when the rest of the class got to know later in the day that he set his watch intentionally slower as a final resort to escape the teacher’s brunt.

But I know that I shouldn’t repeat my old technique in the workplace too.

Earlier, when I was a new recruit I used to come early to the office by taking the public bus. Later I felt the bus is congested and that they are taking double the time to reach my office bus stop. Therefore I bought a new second hand motor bike, just to discover new problems.

More than the dust, smoke and Petrol problems, it’s the buses which are annoying. If ever you stop beside them in the signal, I meant traffic signal – our favourite time passing spot and for few, a business destination.

Sorry, we are beside a bus in a signal, you are covered in smoke from their devilish silencers. The smoke which irritates you to behave normal and provoke to hold onto our heroic faces as if sitting on a time machine.

The passengers do annoy you sometimes by staring at your bike in the signals even though you are single on the bike. Sometimes it’s up to you to decide whether they are looking at you with jealousy or as if you are on their stolen bike.

Many times I avoid stopping next to the buses because you know that anything thrown from the balcony will come to Gandhi class.

With all the worldly pleasures on the way to office I do come here every day.

And finally good news, not for you people, but for me, “I got married recently”. Another reason to come late to the office.

“AM I REALLY LATE”

 

One thought on “Am i late

  1. Bhoomi T. says:

    Wow! U were actually good.. was able to laugh without any sense of obligation.. So keep talking.. I mean writing.. One of the last lines was my favorite, may be..

Leave a comment